Professors Julian Blow and Dario Alessi of the College of Life Sciences,  University of Dundee have received the prestigious honour of election to the Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Julian Blow is Professor of Chromosome Maintenance and Deputy-Head of the Wellcome Trust Centre for Gene Regulation and Expression within the University’s College of Life Sciences, while Professor Alessi is Director of the Medical Research Council Protein Phosphorylation and Ubiquitylation Unit at CLS.

They are among 46 of the UK’s leading medical practitioners who have been made Fellows. Academy Fellows are elected for outstanding contributions to the advancement of medical science, for innovative application of scientific knowledge or for conspicuous service to healthcare.

The expertise of the new Fellows spans neurosurgery, anticancer drug development, reproductive sciences, medical genetics and research and development leadership.

Professor Sir John Tooke, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said, “These new Fellows represent the wealth of talent within the UK biomedical community. Excellent medical science and medical scientists are key to breakthroughs in preventing and treating ill health.

“I am delighted that the Academy can recognise these new Fellows for the work they have done in the generation of cutting edge science and its translation into health benefits for society.”

The independent Academy of Medical Sciences promotes advances in medical science and campaigns to ensure these are translated into benefits for patients. The Academy’s Fellows are the United Kingdom’s leading medical scientists from hospitals, academia, industry and the public service.

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on Wednesday 27 June 2012.

The 46 new Fellows were chosen from 354 candidates. Their election brings the number of Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences to 1061.